Robert Lane Robert Lane
The Second Letter was recently named the 2015 Gold Medal winner of the Independent Book
Publishers Association (IBPA) Benjamin Franklin Award for Best New Voice: Fiction


"Fans of Michael Connelly, Ace Atkins, and Dennis Lehane will likely find Lane's book satisfying on how it hits on all the right notes of a truly suspenseful story."
   —SceneSarasota

Cooler Than Blood
A Jake Travis Novel
by Robert Lane

Facebook Twitter Goodreads
Cooler Than Blood
Bookmark and Share

Now Available

Praise and Reviews:

"Cooler Than Blood is...gripping and highly enjoyable... Jake is
at once a classic noir character...a fascinating protagonist."

   —ForeWord Clarion Reviews

"Lane delivers a confident, engaging Florida tale with a
cast of intriguing characters. A solid, entertaining mystery."

   —Kirkus Reviews

"Cooler Than Blood is Lane's second outing and there's no sophomore slump here. He evokes the underbelly of West Coast Florida with authority and his protagonist Jake Travis will remind you of another free-lancing Florida PI with whom he shares not only nameage, but attitude, savvy, and physical prowess as well. Every bit as satisfying as a Meyers and Coke at the end of the dock at sunset."
   —Les Standiford, author of Water to the Angels

Jenny Spencer is missing after a violent encounter on a beach. Her aunt, Susan Blake, asks wisecracking PI Jake Travis to intervene. Susan and Jake had only spent one dinner together, and both felt and instant attraction. Jake walked away. He was, and is, committed to Kathleen.

As Jake and his partner, Garrett Demarcus, close the circle on finding Jenny, they discover that Kathleen’s past ties to organized crime and Jenny’s life are strangely entwined. They fight a two-front battle to find Jenny and protect Kathleen.

But by protecting Kathleen, will Jake become the type of man she could never love? Does he have a choice?

Read more

BUY THE BOOK:
Amazon Barnes & Noble

Also available at Haslam’s, Florida’s largest new and used bookstore